Weirdoforest Travels 2024

I’m kicking off another travel in a couple weeks – yes not a couple days, a couple weeks. And the first thing on my mind was what stationery to bring with me. Just like last time I posted about this (two years ago!), here’s my shortlist, which means it is totally subject to change over the next few weeks.

To further how far in advance I’ve been thinking about this, I started my list and sketched this out two weeks ago. Took a week to sit on the decision before inking the doodle. Then finally painted it up this weekend :D. The hardest decision was actually what sketchbook to bring. I knew I wanted to bring a watercolour sketchbook, but I was so hesitant to buy a brand new one and also hesitant to work off an existing one. Learning from my last trip where I didn’t finish my doodles (maybe someday?), I opted for a sketchbook that I’ve been using on and off for messy sketches and practice. This way, it won’t feel so precious and I can still feel free to sketch about anything – travel or other. This is an Etchr Perfect sketchbook that I bought in 2020. I love the natural paper edges, the paper quality, and the size. It’s overall a perfect use-case for me and my general sketchy shenanigans.

The core day-to-day items are quite similar to last time. Laptop, mouse, half-frame film camera. What’s new this time around is the pencil case I’m using as well as the addition of my Hobonici planner!

The galen leather zip pouch has been my daily pencil case for the last few months. I am quite enjoying it and it’s a refreshing change to my usual pen roll (though I miss it!). The nice thing is that the size isn’t big which limits my pen and tool selection.

On the fountain pen front, I went with some of my favourites. I don’t plan to sketch TOO much, so I didn’t pick a pen with high ink capacity this time around. What was more important is to have bulletproof ink so I can watercolour over.

  1. Leonardo Momento Zero w/ Rohrer & Klingner “Alt-Goldgrun” – This is going to be my monthly inked for May, so I picked it it advance. This Leo has been very comfy and enjoyable to use, so it’ll be my planner doodle pen.
  2. Tailored Pen Company Tiffany Stained Glass w/ FWP “Blushing Mushroom” – I recently acquired ultra flex nib from Fountain Pen Revolution and want to have some quality time trying it out. Time for more pretty calligraphy headers!
  3. Esterbrook Estie Raven w/ Kakimori “Koton” – From my latest review, the Raven remains inked with my waterproof black ink, perfect for watercolour doodles with its extra fine specialty grind.
  4. Montblanc Meisterstuk Glacier w/ Montblanc “Glacier Blue” – I love having this pen around with me. I’m not sure yet about traveling with one of the more precious in my collection. Anyone have thoughts on traveling with scarily expensive pens in your collection?
  5. Platinum Century 3776 Oshino w/ Sailor “Souboku” – One of my favourite workhorse pens. It’s taken quite a beating over the years but still works so well. I’ll be inking it with a deep blue waterproof ink.

What would be your picks and recommendations? Cheerios and perhaps see you for some travel blogging posts!

2 Comments

    1. I like it a lot! It kind of feels like a disposable since it’s so light, but it’s been really fun to use because it’s lightweight and easy to throw in my bag. I also love that I have ’72’ shots in a 36 roll.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment